Clear all

Risk Management

26 Posts
26 Users
0 Likes
(@bb254)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Risk Management is necessary when dealing with medical devices. Many companies have different ways of evaluating risk within a project such as using a pFMEA, FMEA or FMECA.
There are four main ways to manage a risk:
1. Mitigate
2. Transfer
3. Eliminate
4. Avoid
Give an example of a product risk and how you as an engineer would evaluate and manage that risk if you were apart of the project team.

Posted : 03/04/2017 12:00 pm
 tn58
(@tn58)
Trusted Member

One example of product risk would be failing of a software used in a product. As an engineer, I would verify and validate the software used in the product during the executing process. Once the software is validated, any component of it used in the product would not raise a doubt or risk later on in the project. Also, as a part of the team I would make sure to raise this concern during the meetings and make sure that the project manager as all as other team members are aware of the potential risk in the software used in this project. This again emphasis on the importance of review meetings where everyone should discuss any issues within the project and take the input of each team member seriously. This will make sure that the project is completed within the timeline and no extra cost is added.

Posted : 03/04/2017 6:11 pm
(@jp582)
Trusted Member

Mechanical failure could be one of a product risk. Several things I would like to do to evaluate and manage risk for example I would assess the potential effects of the risk on my project then develop a plan to mitigate or eliminate the effects of that risk, monitor the status of my project’s risk throughout the process, and inform team members who are involved within the project of all risks. Discuss those risks during review meetings and get suggestions and inputs from team members.

Posted : 04/04/2017 3:08 pm
(@krp76)
Trusted Member