Clear all

Clinical Trial Experiment

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@hruship101)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

In Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering Curriculum at NJIT, students are required to take the Capstone (Senior Design Project) Class. If the project involves testing on human subject, an IRB approval is required prior to conducting the experiment.

I feel like we conduct experiments in school, but not necessarily clinical trials. Share an experience whether in school or industry, when you have executed the clinical trial protocol? How is it different from the clinical trial protocol that we learned in this week’s lecture?

Posted : 27/10/2017 7:37 pm
(@bb254)
Estimable Member

I completed my undergraduate degree at NJIT as a biomedical engineering student, the course you are referring to does not necessarily relate to clinical trials. Within capstone, we do experiments on our design, but we never went to the extent of making a protocol or following ICH Good Clinical Practice guidelines. Within capstone, we had to make a requirements document and final report for the product we were designing. The final report consisted of our test results for each requirement. However, we did not classify our product in terms of a class I, class II or class III device. We never went to the extent of completing a 510 (k) to organizing clinical trial guidance documents. At work I have seen the documentation of protocols but not clinical trial documentation. The FDA requirements for clinical trials must be thoroughly documented and approved.

References:
https://www.fda.gov/RegulatoryInformation/Guidances/ucm122046.htm

Posted : 29/10/2017 9:03 am
 hv42
(@hv42)
Eminent Member